javascript:void(0)

Friday, May 27, 2011

Your photos and data on Flickr


 * Multiple copies of your photos and data: When you upload a photo, Flickr creates multiple copies of it, along with any data on tags, groups or sets you specified on upload. All of that information is stored in multiple locations on multiple machines across the United States. For those of you who are interested in learning a little more about this from a technical perspective, there are a couple Flickr alums have written technical manuals in part based on their experiences here.

* If your Pro account expires nothing is deleted: If your Pro account expires or you forget to renew, don’t worry! Your photos and videos are not deleted from our servers. We continue to store your images until you decide to delete them and everything will be waiting for you if you decide to upgrade again.
*New * 90 day delay in erasing content after an account is deleted: We’ve now instituted a 90 day delay in deleting the content, including the photos, metadata, comments, and all the bits of an account, after it’s deleted. The data is no longer available publicly but it is kept on our servers, just in case you want to restore it. After that ‘buffer’ period, we erase it from our servers, ensuring your privacy. For more information on what happens after an account is deleted, check out this FAQ.

* You own your photos: When you upload a photo to Flickr, you retain all the rights and ownership over that photo. You can easily change the type of license you want to apply to your photo with a Creative Commons License and allow for certain uses of the image by others, but by default, your photo is set to “All Rights Reserved”. For more details, check out this recent post.
 
Source: Flickr

3 comments:

  1. Hey, I had a great time reading your website. Can I contact you through email?. Please email me back.

    Regards,

    Angela
    angelabrooks741 gmail.com

    ReplyDelete